Let My Song Rise True

It’s a mystery to me, as it is to many, how God came to the conclusion that he would trust us with the message and the method of His good news. Frankly, it seems like individually and as a group we’re not all that trustworthy. If His love is an anthem, and we are His choir, we have a really hard time staying on tune. Well, I do. Sometimes my discordance is just a nuisance to the people closest to me, and for this I am sorry, but my greater fear is that sometimes it causes anyone within earshot to put some distance between them and the tune. Boy, I hope not. No one should miss this mysterious melody of love incarnate, redemption and hope. I long to sing it true.
And eucharisteo? It means thanksgiving. It’s one of those wonderful words I learned last year, from Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts, a lifechanging book. Thank you Ann.
1 Corinthians 14:7,8

Let My Song Rise True

Let my song rise true.
I want to sing in harmony;
In each measure, note by note,
Still the dissonance in me.

Hush the selfish din I sing,
Pull the lines apart.
Create noble chords of love,
Let them echo from my heart.

May each note beat eucharisteo,
Compel me sing it well.
A chorus of your faithfulness,
Let my life song tell.

Compose, direct across the veil;
We hush to hear the strain:
“Be still and know that I am God;”
Sustaining, sweet refrain.

When pain pummels to the floor,
Our eager voice snuffed out,
Please softly hum your melody,
A balm for loss and doubt.

May each note beat eucharisteo,
Compel me sing it well.
A chorus of your faithfulness
Let my life song tell.

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

