A Monday Prayer

Winter Monday mornings come earlier than other days of the week it seems to me.   And rest assured Mondays, that is not a compliment.   The easy cadence of the weekend felt so good.  It lulled me into a delightful, languid daze.   Can there really be a world outside my cozy den that needs attention?   Because the urge to hibernate, both physically and emotionally,  is bone deep today.

A steaming mug of dark roast sweetened nearly beyond recognition, aids my mind’s sluggish climb to consciousness.   One cup in, I am awake enough to recognize the inevitable, so I capitulate and contemplate the day’s demands.   At first blush, they seem monotonous, in a rather challenging way and altogether unfun.   (Well, it’s a word now.) Remarkably, they seem to multiply as I mull them over.   A caffeine aided adrenaline rush kicks in and I lurch frantically out of my drowsy reverie to chase and tackle the first task before I fall behind.   But wait.   Slow down.   Deep breath.   This is no way to begin.

First things first…

Cue the long pause…..

Creator of All,

 Including this day’s journey,

 I kneel before you to ask that your Holy Spirit

 Stir my sluggish soul to recognize the path

 You’ve mapped out for me to travel today.

  I need you to make the way straight,

  Because as you know,

I am loathe to check the compass often,

And rely far too much on dead reckoning.

  May I be a pleasant traveling companion this day,

And not get so focused on covering enough ground

That I fail to note the condition of strangers

 And climbing companions alike.

  When I come upon one whose load chafes,

Give  me the compassion and control

To slow,  so I  may walk with them for a time

And perhaps carry some of their load.

Help me follow on your heels,  pace me.

Help me appreciate the terrain in all its rugged beauty.

Amen.

2012-04-22 10.45.42

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

