If

If

it

doesn’t

absolutely

have

to

be

revealed

today,

it   probably   won’t.

I’m not entirely sure why this is true, but as I scrutinize God’s providence, I arrive at this conclusion repeatedly.  God has His own sense of timing, with a bent towards “11th hour and Mysterious”, so this seems to be a truth I would do well to get comfortable with.  There is something altogether different about how a holy, infinite God handles time, and I suppose that makes sense.  I find that as I give up my small-perspective expectations, which lean towards “Soon and Obvious”, and make friends with ambiguity, I experience a good measure of comfort that has the unmistakable feel of peace.  And wonder of wonders, peace invites patience to the party where we wait together for His 11th hour surprise.

Isaiah 55:8-9  “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.  “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Ryrie Study Bible

kerry peterson    February 2013

This entry was posted in Call to be Courageous, Hunting for Hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If

  1. Summer says:

    Thank you for this reminder today. I love that God is mysterious, but find it hard when he is specifically mysterious with me. Leaving the “soon and obvious” behind today.

Leave a Reply

