Our Worlds Collide

photo by Trevor Peterson

photo by Trevor Peterson

1 Corinthians 13:4-5

“Love is very patient and kind, never jealous or envious, never boastful or proud, never haughty or selfish or rude.  Love does not demand its own way.  It is not irritable or touchy.  It does not hold grudges and will hardly even notice when others do it wrong…”

Romans 7:15- 8:17 “…I don’t understand myself at all, for I really want to do what is right, but I can’t…”

OUR WORLDS COLLIDE

 I’m torn between two worlds:  My ways versus Yours.

Eternal, daily conflict, Old and New collide.

 

I am restless ruckus,

You are patient whisper.

 

I am narrow narcissism,

You are wide-open warmth.

 

I have coveted and consumed,

You had no place to lay your head.

 

I pursue provision in a panic,

You peacefully pursue those who need provision.

 

I want to live my own way,

You died, providing THE Way.

 

I like a lot of limelight,

We esteemed you not.

 

I speak too often, hot and huffy,

Your words are cool and calm.

 

My hands bend ‘round bitterness,

Your hands release, renew.

 

Your selfless love collides with my sensibilities. 

I weary of this war.  How must you.

Weave surrender into my world.

Calm the conflict;

Consecrate my capitulation,

Capture me.

 

kerry peterson   February 2013

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Worlds Collide

  1. eclipsedbylight says:

    Thank you for taking the steps to capture this prayer and share it. Coming across it was a blessing today…

Leave a Reply

