Wait For It

Bodega Bay, California

Bodega Bay, California

“Wait for it…. wait for it!” coaches my fair-haired, three year old niece on the windswept, wintry beach. Each word is drawn out, steeped in suspense, with an “only if you dare” lilt and pitch.   “It” is the climbing tide, a wave all lacy and smooth; spume-covered surf that arcs from the deep and chases little feet up sandy embankment into the edge of a dune. Sea grass waves behind her, billowing in the seascape breeze.  The briny ocean rollers break and pound 100 yards out.  She is respectful of the crashing waves, with their brawl and roar, but they do not bully her away from her spot in the sand.  What has captured her fancy is the self-imposed test of staying in one spot as long as she can before hurtling headlong, screeching hysterically, up the slope to safety, just in the nick of time.  I’m amazed she has the guts to wait until the crest is critically close.  In fact, she can’t always build up the speed she needs to outrun some waves, so watchful parent hands scoop and swing her skyward, to her even greater delight.  Only a child can make a game of outrunning the sea and a good soaking.

I have heard her enthusiastic challenge-phrase in my head many a time since that December day. It never fails to bring a smile to my lips, and a little more oxygen into my clenched lungs when the cheery soundtrack plays.  It seems to get cued when I am contemplating an unknown that looms large before me.   So much in this life rolls, roils and towers when it’s 100 yards out, intimidating the heck out of me.  But what if I were to harness some of that hysteria and try some daring of my own here at the coastline of my  fears and future?  Why not dig my toes into the sand a little further and stand my ground, rather than heading for higher ground prematurely?  What’s the worst that can happen?  I get a little soaked?  Or maybe, since I too have a Father who keeps watch, I might just find a way to savor this moment in the sun and the surging surf.

  Philippians 4:6-7

kpeterson  february 2013

This entry was posted in Call to be Courageous, Nature Speaks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wait For It

  1. Diane says:

    Ahhhhh….I love this!! It’s a fun visual for me and brings back memories of my own kids playing like that. I heard on the radio yesterday, “Don’t take yourself so seriously, but take God very seriously”. I loved that. This post reminds me how true that is. I was thinking after I heard that on the radio, if animals are blessed with the emotion of joy. I was thinking of the robins in my birdbath and how they frolic in the water and how the birds play chase in the sky and Oliver chasing his ‘baby’ when I throw it. I think they have the capacity, but how much greater the Lord loves us which makes me believe we have an even great ability to feel elation! Sad that it comes so naturally at 3 and we ‘lose’ it as we age. I cherish the moments of elation and can’t wait for the next.

  2. homefolks says:

    This is beautiful !

  3. Tracey Boynton says:

    Such a great reminder, Kerry. I find it so easy to run back to the safety of the shore before the waves get anywhere near if it’s a little scary. I long to be the one standing strong, hair dripping, toes clenched, knowing that The Lord gave me the courage to stick that wave out! His peace can wash over me any day!!!

Leave a Reply

