Sunsets and Surrender

Some victories are won by steadfast surrender

…And a whole lot of time.

 

 

Excerpts from Psalm 46:

God is our refuge and strength,  a very present help in trouble.

Therefore we will not fear,  even though the earth be removed..

..Be still, and know that I am God;

I will be exalted among the nations,

I will be exalted in the earth!”

NKJV

 

 

Lord God,

I resist what your  “I will...” infers.  I would prefer a time frame or a quick fix, and I would like your plan to match mine.

Forgive me.  Quiet me.  Remind me who You are.

By your grace, give us the will to endure until YOUR will is accomplished in all that we face. Sometimes we wrangle with superficial silliness, other times we wrestle with soul-crushing agony.  May we always know AND share your Only-Divine Joy.  Light the corners of this dark world with your love.  Give us courage to light our candles at your Faithful Flame and follow you.

Amen.

Sunsets Are All About  Surrender

Sunsets –  Surrendering Splendor

kpeterson     march  2013

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunsets and Surrender

  1. Teresa says:

    Love this! Wanting to find joy in HIs will…it is a choice, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Mum says:

    How beautiful an analogy. I have never thought of the sun(set) as surrendering to God’s purpose for it daily. Sometimes clouds get in the way of the sun’s purpose and hide its light, but it is persistent. Good reminder to evaluate my attitude and compliance to His will each day. Sunset at Bodega Bay particularly comes to mind as a beautiful reminder.

Leave a Reply

