Ballerina Aspirations

I aspire to be a ballerina

Pitched accurately,

Dignified, on velvet toe.

Arm outstretched

In graceful arc,

No haste,

No waste,

No want.

 

Instead,

I am a Slalom skier,

Arms akimbo,

Poles flailing,

Bashing every pole

Along the course

In my frenzied  flight

To the finish line.

 

 

I can just hear my parents chuckling (good naturedly), “Yep. That’s her.”

It seems like life often requires a higher degree of accuracy and grace than I can summon. Maybe that’s because I’m usually trying to get several things done at once.   Multi-tasking might just have been the worst idea ever.

I’ve had an opportunity to experience a season of relative quiet these past ten months, due to a move our family made.  While I miss  the relational aspects of my job, my soul has reveled in the time to be quiet.   I feared I would be bored and lost without a full schedule, but as it turns out, the time to think long and hard, to pray and ponder, to listen intently to others, has tapped new areas of creativity and been incredibly healing and meaningful.  I haven’t been compelled by the clock to multi-task every waking hour.  So I wondered- where did we get the idea of multi-tasking?

In an effort to find out, I stumbled on a great article about it on the  Encyclopedia  Britannica Blog (Does it seem weird to anyone that an encyclopedia has a blog?):

I’ve included the link to the one page article at the bottom of this post. I’m just going to pull two sentences from it that stopped me in my tracks.

“When we give others half our attention or allow interruptions to pepper our time together, we undermine the chance for a true “meeting of minds.” Respect for the integrity of a moment is crucial for nurturing in-depth interactions.”  *

Hmmm.  These words ring true:  “respect the integrity of a moment”, especially since the context is relationships.  And I think we’d all agree, relationships are the heart and soul of existence.  Yes,  “Whole attention” to each and every moment-  I’d like a little more of that, please.

I guess you could argue that slalom skiers respect the integrity of the moment in their own way as they barrel down the slope.  But really, I’d like to swap out my helmet and skis for a tutu and slippers, and approach life a little more like that ballerina.

 

Lord,

Help me think deeply

Through all that could be done,

Help me see clearly

What cannot bear to go undone.

Help me live joyfully

In the midst of what must be done.

That each and every moment

Might get the respect it deserves.

Amen.

kpeterson   April 21, 2013
This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Celebrating Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ballerina Aspirations

  1. Patty Green says:

    Kerry, Your words spoke to me today , nearer to God, to be always in His will. This takes time, effort and planning. Thank you for reminding me of where I need to be.

  2. Beautiful piece, Kerry. 🙂 I love your writing style.

  3. Connie Cochran says:

    You just knew I could relate, didn’t you? You are such a wise, talented lady.

Leave a Reply

