Scary, Not Impossible

“Things look impossible when you’ve not done them.”

Barbara Kingsolver,  Flight Patterns

 

Barbara Kingsolver, one of the most prosaic storytellers of our time, also has a knack for capturing a truth and offering it up to her reader with concise clarity.  If I could impart one piece of wisdom to young people on the cusp of adulthood,  her brief but powerful perspective on tackling new demands  might be just the one.  Indeed, we do tend to feel unnecessarily overwhelmed by the unknown.

It is a life-changing,  freedom-laden lesson to own:  Do not be overwhelmed by the challenges that lay before you.  Many of them are merely a series of tasks that progress naturally, if you’ll just stay the course and complete each one to the best of your ability.   Conserve your adrenaline.  Everyday challenges usually require fully engaged attendance, not heroics.

 

Scary, Not Impossible

I’m walking off the map of my experience,

Shoving off from the Shores of Familiar

With optimism filling my sails,

But my, how the breakers menace.

Slamming and smashing

Sentinels guarding the gates

To my future-

Are they trying to scare me off?

 

Amidst the churning chaos

A moment of clarity

Flies to my frantic thoughts:

All I must do is stay afloat-

No banzai bailing overboard.

Just sit securely in the raft and plow ahead,

For it’s far outside my power

To command the waves,

No mere mortal can do that.

 

The sovereign tide

and companion currents

Overrule the coiling combers

That intimidate,

Pulling me out to calmer waters.

 

And so,

I will set myself

To mind the rudder,

Trim the sails,

And paddle hard and long,

Dismissing agitation and alarm.

I’ll  make a go of enjoying this adventure,

This crossing from familiar shore to future seas.

 

kpeterson   May 29, 2013

 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”                                         Joshua 1:9

  

This entry was posted in Call to be Courageous, Nature Speaks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scary, Not Impossible

  1. cheri says:

    love this, kerry! thank you!

Leave a Reply

