The Essence of a Dad

Click on the picture for a great blog if you are into the technical side of camping.

Click on the picture for a great blog if you are into the technical side of camping.

DAD

The old green Coleman lantern

Hums outside

Our Ranger Chalet with its

Steeply pitched roof

And mint-green canvas walls,

Out here somewhere

In the woods of the West.

 

A steady, contained flame flickers

Within its gossamer netting,

Lighting up our little world in the darkness.

The lamp’s buzz

Lulls my brother, my sister, and me

To sleep.

 

Snuggled deep into our sleeping bags,

Fingers still a little sticky

With pitch or marshmallow,

Most likely a little of both,

We smile, wrapped up

In the soothing solace

That envelopes you after a long day

Of adventure in the woods

And a father’s full attention.

 

If there is a sound that captures

The essence of my dad,

Hands down, I’d go with that

Classic, old Coleman Lantern.

 

Happy Father’s Day to my dad, who anyone would agree, is a first-rate adventurer.    Thank you for making time to get your family out of the routine and into the wild.                   We appreciate the way you get behind us 100% when we find an adventure of our own to follow. 

Kerry

June 15, 2013

And Happy Father’s Day to my beloved Brian.  You are exceedingly patient and good, and I can’t imagine sharing the parenthood journey with anyone but you.  Thank you for loving our own three so well.

This entry was posted in Celebrating Family, Celebration, Parenting, To Honor and Remember and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Essence of a Dad

  1. Dad says:

    Thank you, Kerry. That first pack trip you, at age 5, and I took to Ladybug, with all of its misadventures, showed me right off that my oldest daughter was a “trooper”, and as you well know, that is an unparalleled compliment in our family. As your dad, I’m proud that the term still aptly applies to my eldest!

Leave a Reply

