Run

track-19217_640

RUN

Runners

Circle the endless oval

With apparent ease.

 

Legs churn through the meters

Like the air is barely there,

Like they run without the burn

That turns my legs to dead weight.

 

I want to run like that.

 

But,

The only way

To run long and hard

With endurance,

Is to do just that:

Run long and hard

With endurance.

 

Progress only comes from pressing on,

And strength is born from strain.

Pain is part of the plan.

 

So, I will plod on

To the beat of grateful songs

That fill my ears

And fuel my heart.

 

For I have a course to complete,

A path to tread,

A race to win.

 

“Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. And everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. Therefore, I run in such a way, not as without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I buffet my body and make it my slave, lest possibly, after I have preached to others, I myself should be disqualified.” (I Corinthians 9:24-27)

 

kpeterson  May 20, 2013

Dedicated to two beloved champions of endurance – Johnny and Jane Thomsen of Kingsburg Young Life.

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous, Hunting for Hope, Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run

  1. Willis Green says:

    Thanks, Kerry for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

