Slow Burn

....................................

………………………………

Slow Burn

Anger and fear

Can burn slow and steady

For years.

Smoldering,

They change the landscape of a life.

 

Oh, but

So can joy

And so can love.

 

God only knows the power of heat

In renewing a life.

Even in the burn of pain and loss

Or the combustible cross-hairs of faith and doubt,

A quiet ember of gratitude stands ready to spark trust,

And trust kindles joy.

Joy catches fire and banks the flames of freedom,

And freedom fuels love.

 

I want a flammable faith,

Hot enough to consume my own apathy;

A pyre for self-concern.

A faith that changes the landscape of my life,

From anger to joy

And fear to trust.

 

Father God,

Thank You that Your love burns long,

Burns hot,

And never goes cold-

Oh, how it warms my soul.

May I daily let it do its life-changing work

In me.

 

Thanks to Bill O., a faith-full man,  for the imagery his good words gave.

 

kpeterson

February 2014

Yes, yes it does repeat a lot.  Listen as long or as short as you’d like.

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous, Nature Speaks, Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slow Burn

  1. Tink says:

    Beautiful! I love this. I’ll use it for my morning devotions this week and remember, in a nut shell, what I want, what I need, is “A faith that changes the landscape of my life.” That says it all for me. Beautiful Kerry…Thank you.

    • Thank you, friend. I am so glad it resonated with you. Thank you for telling me. It’s a funny thing to toss words of conviction and confession into the void of cyberspace, I very much appreciate your response. Love and a hug…

  2. aiman rad says:

    Faith and faith, then faith

Leave a Reply

