Our Fast, Their Feast 2

It’s Day 3 of “Our fast, Their Feast”. We may not be eating our egg around the same table, but there is a deep sense of companionship in this sharing of both the burden for the children of Northern Uganda and the pursuit of gratefulness in our own hearts.

I confess that I haven’t been eating my egg hard-boiled like the IGF kiddos. I’m going to try and work up to that, but due to my aversion to eggs, getting the bad boy down scrambled has been Challenge #1. Hard-boiled will be Challenge #2.

As I sit down to eat my egg each morning, I have to really work to hear the quiet, grateful voice in my head instead of the loud, ungrateful one that pitches a fit about not liking the taste or the texture of this little, yellow breakfast-gift.

Fortunately, the grateful voice persists and it speaks to me of a truth I believe to be trustworthy:

My relationship with some trials in this life are a lot like the scenario with that scrambled egg. I do not like them, they are not pleasing to me; but, here’s the thing that matters- that doesn’t mean they are without nourishing intent.

If, as a Christ-follower, I hand my life over to Him and seek daily to walk the way He walked, it doesn’t take much reading of the gospels to see that path is going to be uncomfortable. Frequently. I can’t find a place in Scripture where Jesus chose to skip a circumstance because it wasn’t pleasing.

I really have to train myself to look at trials differently than I naturally do. I am daily dependent on Him to teach me to see life differently than a series of events and encounters designed to please me. On my own, I am without the grace to be grateful- whether we’re talking about an egg for breakfast or the places in life that don’t feel like a gift.

 

 

I Stop

I stop

To be grateful

For this scrambled egg.

I stop

To appreciate

This little vehicle of nourishment.

I still can’t say I like it,

But, I chew and swallow it down

For its purpose

Is to strengthen

Me from the inside out.

And so,

I stop

And name it,

A gift.

 

I stop

To be grateful

For this scrambled circumstance.

I stop

To appreciate

This vehicle of nourishment.

I still can’t say I like it

But, I chew and swallow it down

For its purpose

Is to strengthen

Me from the inside out.

And so,

I stop

And name it,

A gift.

 

kpeterson

March 2014

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous, To Honor and Remember, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Fast, Their Feast 2

  1. Thank you for letting the Spirit use you. In our weakness He is strong. So even in our egg aversions, our bug fears (that one’s mine), or our daily issues He can use even us. Those trials we can view as gifts become more precious to us because they were not mistakes of this world but hand picked “vehicles of nourishment” by our loving Father so that we will be stronger. To view a hard thing as a gift is not being in denial or refusing to face reality it is choosing to see a new reality, agreeing with The One Who Defines reality. Thank you for your beautiful reminder to stop.

  2. Patty Green says:

    Kerry, you hit home again. Thank you

Leave a Reply

