You Beat All

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.  Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

From 2 Corinthians 12

 

Well honestly Lord,

No. I do not delight

In weakness

In insults

In hardships

In persecutions

In difficulties.

 

This perspective does not lie within

The power of

My will

My experience

Or my desire.

 

Some days, I’d lay down my shield of faith

And abandon the path of perseverance

In a heartbeat

If I had a place to run.

 

But to whom

Would I run?

 

This world in all its flowery farce

Offers not a shred of comfort

Within its tattered rags.

Like the emperor of story-old,

Parading through the streets

Cloaked only in disdainful pride,

It cannot clothe nor cover me.

 

So I look to You again

And ask You repeat Your claim

That weakness,

Which plagues and settles shadow-like,

Would be the very place

I meet you.

You, who beat all.

 

You, in all Your laid-down divinity

That willed an unwed mother would be best

And a manger would suffice,

That a sham of a trial

By a pitiless politician

And bitter men bent on blood

Would be your vehicle of death,

And that a quiet exit from the tomb,

While the world slept

And your friends hid,

Would be Your finest hour.

 

Clearly, You do not ask

Anything You have not given.

You soften my heart

With Your humility.

 

So I come to You Holy One,

And lay down my weakness

On the altar of obedience

Trusting that You will consume it

With a sufficiency that overwhelms

The heart-sick strain that comes

In this world of

Weaknesses

Insults

Hardships

Persecutions

And difficulties.

 

This news beats

Any and all

I have ever heard,

And so I turn

And run

To You.

 

kpeterson

may 2014

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in At the Throne of Grace, Call to be Courageous, Hunting for Hope, Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Beat All

  1. Thank you. Thank you for the reminder that this world does not have the victory. This life is not the final bow. The hardships, the disappointments, the sacrifices have a reason. And, more importantly, like you wrote, we are not alone. Christ gave all he had and sacrificed and faced excruciating hardships and disappointments. We are loved. That fact makes life worth living and all the rest worth living through.

  2. So beautiful Kerry … thank you.

Leave a Reply

